Parkin Archeological State Park in eastern Arkansas at Parkin preserves and interprets the Parkin site on the St. Francis River where a 17-acre Mississippi Period, American Indian village was located from A.D. 1000 to 1600. A large platform mound on the river bank remains. The site is important for understanding the history and prehistory of northeast Arkansas. There were once many archeological sites similar to Parkin throughout this region, but they did not survive as eastern Arkansas was settled.
Many scholars believe the Parkin site is the American Indian village of Casqui visited by the expedition of Hernando de Soto in 1541, and written about in his chronicles.
Arkansas State Parks and the Arkansas Archeological Survey manage this National Historic Landmark. In conjunction with the founding of the state park, a research station was established at Parkin by the Arkansas Archeological Survey. Station archeologists conduct research at the site that provides visitors with a unique opportunity to see how we learn about prehistory. Visitors can watch research in progress, and see firsthand the results of careful excavations and laboratory analysis.
Official Great River Road Interpretive Center
The Great River Road National Scenic Byway follows the course of the Mississippi River for 3,000 miles from northern Minnesota to the Gulf of Mexico. The scenic route passes through 10 states and hundreds of river towns. Learn more >
The park visitor center includes an interpretive exhibit area, auditorium, and gift shop. A picnic area, playground, and standard pavilion (enclosed) are located nearby. A boat ramp provides access to the St. Francis River.
Park interpreters offer site tours, educational programs, scout patch activities, workshops, and special events throughout the year.
The park also interprets the Northern Ohio Lumber and Cooperage Company that had a mill on this site in the early 20th century. Tour the circa 1910 Northern Ohio School, a historic one-room schoolhouse. By the beginning of World War II, there were 15 one-room and two-room schoolhouses providing education for children in Parkin, a town of less than 2,000 citizens. Today, the Northern Ohio School, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, is the only one of these early Parkin structures still standing. The stories it tells of what took place here in the early 20th century in and around the Sawdust Hill community are compelling parts of the historic fabric of Parkin, just as is the park’s interpretation of the prehistoric village of Casqui is, too.
Jan. - Dec. Sun.: 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.; Tues. - Sat.: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Closed: Monday (except Mon. holidays), New Year's Day, Thanksgiving Day & Christmas Eve through Christmas Day
Museum/Archeological Site Self-Guided Tour is free. See park rates and fees on website for latest information.