Meandering Bayou Grosse Tete, draped with massive live oak trees, runs along LA Highway 77 and gives visitors a real sense of the charm and tranquility of rural life in Louisiana. Besides the picturesque ride through open fields of sugarcane, corn and soybeans, past rustic fences and pastures of green grass dotted with old barns, visitors will find antebellum homes in a variety of styles.
All privately owned, the homes are not open regularly for tours. They include: Sunnyside - A lovely two-story mansion built in 1895. It sits in a grove of live oak trees. Tanglewild - Built before 1860, is a one and a half story raised cottage with pillored front gallery and dormer windows. Mound House - Built in 1840, is a one and a half story frame house that sits among moss-draped oak trees. Live Oaks Plantation - Built by slave artisans who hauled cypress from the swamps and made brick from clay soil found in the area, Live Oaks was built in 1826. It features six columns supporting wonderful galleries on both the first and second floors. Trinity Plantation - a must see for live oak lovers, it is set back from the roadway, with a drive centered between two rows on tremendous live oaks. Trinity was built in 1839 atop an old Indian mound. Church of the Nativity - A quaint old Protestant Episcopal chapel built in 1859 is an old English style structure.