George M. Curtis was an industrialist in the second half of the 19th century, when Clinton was a sawmill capital. The George M. Curtis home, typical of the Queen Anne architectural style popular in the later Victorian period in America, is one of the few remaining homes of the lumber baron era in Clinton. Constructed of brick veneer with terra cotta ornamentation, the mansion features magnificent stained glass windows, eleven elaborate fireplaces, resplendent furnishings and lovely Victorian gardens. The decorative interior millwork is exemplary of the Curtis Company products.
The Curtis Brothers Company
George M. Curtis was one of the founders of the Curtis Brothers Company in 1866. The company manufactured window sash, doors, and interior and exterior millwork for one hundred years in Clinton. Construction materials were produced during the peak years of building activity as the western states were settled. The Curtis Company was the first to install glass in the window sash at the factory. In the early twentieth century the company also manufactured built-in furniture for homes and offices. George M. Curtis was twice elected to the United States Congress and was prominent in local civil affairs.
Curtis Mansion Historical Foundation
The mission of the Curtis Mansion Historical Foundation is to preserve, maintain and restore the George M. Curtis Mansion, its gardens and collections and to interpret, share and foster an appreciation for the architectural, cultural, economic and civic legacy of the Curtis family, as a part of the rich history and heritage of our community.
The Clinton Woman's Club
The Clinton Woman's Club was organized in November 1912 and was affiliated with the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs in 1913. The Woman's Club acquired the George M. Curtis Mansion and carriage house in 1925.
The historical and architectural importance of this residence was recognized in October 1979 when it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.