The Brookhaven Downtown District is full of historic structures that reflect architecture from the early 20th century. The picturesque streets bring the past to life in a beautiful and modern way. Visitors can experience Mississippi history in a charming downtown. Some featured locations in this district include:
The Inn on Whitworth
In the heart of downtown, The Inn on Whitworth is a 14-room boutique hotel located in Brookhaven’s historic district. This beautiful inn has been restored in a contemporary style with luxury amenities and within steps of the treasures of Brookhaven. The Inn was converted from a historic building built in 1900.
Dates and Times - The Inn on Whitworth is open year-round to guests.
Janie’s Pastry Shop
Part of the downtown district, Janie’s is located in the Storm Building, built in 1865. The pastry shop is family owned and operated, open since 1939, offers a variety of cakes, cookies, pastries, and yeast raised dough items such as delicious dough nuts and cinnamon rolls to choose from. The character of the bakery is still present with vintage collectibles that line the walls of the shop.
Dates and Times - Monday through Saturday 5 a.m. – 5 p.m.
The Haven Theatre
The Brookhaven Little Theatre organization is one of the longest running community theatre groups operating in Mississippi today. The non-profit, all volunteer organization presents five plays each year involving casts of all ages in the historic venue, The Haven. Originally built as a movie theatre, the theatre was converted to a proscenium stage in the 1980s. Audiences come from throughout southwest Mississippi to experience the nostalgia of their youth. The exterior was recently renovated. Interior improvements are still underway to revitalize this fully functional performance venue.
Dates and Times - Seasonal during the year – visit www.haventheater.org or contact Joanna Sproles at (601) 757-7657 or Joanna.firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Military Memorial Museum
The local World War II veterans converted the downtown railroad depot into a museum honoring local servicemen. The museum contains WWII special edition newspapers with pictures and stories of local servicemen, plane replicas, ships and many articles from the local veterans.
Dates and Times
Open Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Special requests tours can be set up other times by calling 601-833-4489.
B’Nai Sholom Jewish Heritage Museum
This museum was the former B’Nai Sholom Temple built in 1896. Until 2009, it was the oldest temple still in use in Mississippi. The Lincoln County Historical & Genealogical Society received the building in 2009 for the purpose of establishing a dual museum. The museum houses Lincoln County and Jewish artifacts and memorabilia.
Dates and Times - Open Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Special requests tours can be set up other times by calling 601-833-8023.
Exchange Club Fair
Reminiscent of an old-time County Fair, this local favorite runs for one week prior to the start of the school year annually. This permanent fair is entirely operated by volunteers and features rides hand-made in the 1950s.
Dates and Times - The Fair will open for special operations and the annual Fair is the first of August each year. Contact Greg Hoff at (601) 695-7359.
The Coffee Pot
This unique structure with a coffee pot on the roof was the first fast food restaurant in the south. Today the building is inactive, but serves as tourist attraction and icon for the Brookhaven area.
Dates and Times - Building can be viewed year round in the 900 block of South First Street.
The Log Cabin
This charming log cabin was built in 1825 by John Foster on an old post road in Copiah County. Its hand hewn logs and simple furnishings exemplify the pioneer spirit. In 1955, it was moved to Lincoln County by Andrew and Monelle Smith. The cabin and content were deeded to the Brookhaven Trust and moved in 1997 to the current location in Railroad Park downtown.
Dates and Times - Tours are by appointment by contacting Chamber of Commerce (601) 833-1411. The exterior is available for viewing year round.