Auburn is the home that started the grand mansion building craze in Natchez, MS. It was finished in 1812 by Levi Weeks, architect for Attorney Lyman Harding who moved to Natchez from Boston, MS. He only lived at Auburn until his death in 1820, but before his death, he became Mississippi's first Attorney General. Auburn was next owned by Dr. Stephen Duncan who moved to Natchez from Carlisle, PA. He and his family lived at Auburn from 1821 until 1910 when Dr. Duncan's son, who inherited the home from his Father, donated Auburn, all the furnishing and 210 acres to the City of Natchez. Auburn was virtually empty from 1910 until 1972 when a group of local ladies leased the home from the City and began a restoration project. Auburn is now leased and managed by the members of the Auburn Antebellum Home, a small volunteer group of people whose only source of income is the tourism dollar, donations and gift shop proceeds. The next project on their agenda is the restoration of the 1830 detached kitchen.
Auburn is unique in that it has an original wooden free standing spiral staircase that from research we believe to be one of only 3 or 4 in the United States. It definitely is the show piece of our house.