Marcy-Holmes Historic Neighborhood

Marcy-Holmes is eclectic, diverse, active and has a rich historical tapestry. It is the oldest neighborhood in the city and today offers exceptional access to places for learning, working, worshipping, shopping and dining.

Marcy-Holmes is east of the Mississippi and south of East Hennepin Avenue, which is why it's called Southeast Minneapolis. Named for a politician (William L. Marcy) and a writer (Oliver Wendell Holmes), Marcy-Holmes is the proud gateway to the University District, which includes Prospect Park, Southeast Como, West Bank-Cedar Riverside and the University of Minnesota.

Although Marcy-Holmes is one neighborhood, different areas within exhibit different urban character.

  • As the birthplace of Minneapolis and home to the original Pillsbury A-Mill, the Riverfront has local and national historic significance. The current mix of uses, structures, and attractions make the area one of the most visited and loved in the region.
  • The West Side is predominantly a quiet residential area with a diverse mixture of housing types, styles, and sizes, ranging from many-unit apartment and condominium buildings to single-family houses.
  • The East Side relates closely to the University of Minnesota—most of the housing, retail, and services within this area cater to students, faculty, staff and others associated with university life.
  • Centered on the intersection of 4th Street SE and 14th Avenue SE, the Dinkytown business district serves the neighborhood, campus area, and region with an eclectic mix of businesses—as it has for over 100 years. Bob Dylan slept here.
  • The 9th Street Industrial area is a favorite walking destination to many and a burgeoning creative sector; the historic Ry•Krisp plant has recently been repurposed into a creative business incubator. The area supports one of the neighborhood's two bicycle network connections to the north.
Read more

Location

Collapse
Nearby
Latitude: 44.981997 Longitude: -93.249107 Elevation: 807 ft
the best travel advice comes from the people who live here
John Capecci

Downloads

History

Native Americans were the first residents of our area. To them, the waterfall on the river was sacred and no warfare was permitted while visiting them. Father Louis Hennepin, a Franciscan priest captured by the Dakota, is credited with being the first European to see the falls in 1680. He was so taken with their beauty that he named them after his patron saint, St. Anthony of Padua. His accounts of adventures in the new world helped make this a destination for adventurous travelers in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The falls became the center for logging businesses and by 1850 census records show the town of St. Anthony Falls with a population of 656. The first store was opened in 1847, at what is now Main Street and Second Avenue SE; the first frame houses were built in 1848 and the first school was opened in 1849.

Eventually the town of St. Anthony Falls incorporated in 1855, and was later named St. Anthony. It merged with Minneapolis in 1872. Fifth Street became the premier address in the city. It was home to flour manufacturers, lumbermen, merchants and other civic leaders who built the town of St. Anthony. In 1976 a portion of Fifth Street SE was designated a local historic district.  Marcy-Holmes boasts three other historic districts: the St. Anthony Falls Historic District, the University of MN Greek Letter Chapter House Historic District, and the Dinkytown Historic District.

Leave a Comment

Submit